Vlamingh Expedition plaque
Public Art: Vlamingh Expedition plaque
Also Known As : Vlamingh Landing plaque
Date Unveiled: The Willem de Vlamingh Expedition
plaque was unveiled on the 16th of November, 1997, by Colin Barnett the Member of Cottelsoe and Graham
Kierath the then Minister for Planning, to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Vlamingh landing and to
establish "The Vlamingh Parklands"
Location: The Vlamingh Expedition plaque can be found
near the Vlamingh obelisk along Marine Parade, Cottesloe, Western Australia.
It was at or near this location that Dutchman William De Vlamingh, together with 85 crew of the ships
"Geelvink", "Nijptangh" and "Weseltje" came ashore on 5th January, 1697 to become the first Europeans
to visit and explore the south west of what was then known as "New Holland".
After camping overnight at what is now Freshwater Bay the espedition split into three groups and moved
overland in Proximity to the river. The expedition moved upstream as far as present day Dalkeith before
returning to the coast.
On 7th January Vlamingh and his men discovered black swans and the mouth of the river which they named
the Black Swan River. Following this the party returned to the ships. On 10th January , forty men
returned with four longboats for investigation upstream in the river. The expedition extended as far as
what is now Heirisson Island on Perth Water.
The expedition left the area on 13 January and headed north for Batavia, charting the coast as they
The plaque has been laid on 16th November 1997 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Vlamingh
landing and to establish "The Vlamingh Parklands" in recognition of the expedition.
Vlamingh Trivia: On December 29, 1696 de Vlamingh landed on
Rottnest Island and saw what he thought were large rats so called the place the Dutch equivalent of 'rats' nest'.
Turns out those rats were just cute little quokkas.