William Church Osborn Gates
Public Art: William Church Osborn Gates
Sculptor: © Paul Manship
Architect: Aymar Embury II
Description: A series of bronze gates
dedicated to former president of the Metroplitan Museum of Art, William Church Osborn (1861-1951) . The
gates features five vignettes from Aesop's Fables, including the Fox and the Crow and The Hare
and The Tortoise .
Funded By: William Church Osborn Memorial
Date Unveiled: 1953
IN MEMORY OF WILLIAM CHURCH OSBORN 1861-1951 . HE
SERVED HIS CITY AND STATE FAITHFULLY AND WELL.
PRESIDENT- THE CHILDREN'S AID SOCIETY 1901-1949,
NEW YORK SOCIETY FOR THE RELIEF OF THE RUPTURED AND CRIPPLED
1910-1925, 1928-1937 METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART 1941-1947
THE FOX AND THE CROW , THE CROW LISTENED TO THE
FOXES FLATTERY DROPPED THE CHEESE
THE HARE AND THE TORTOISE, SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE
THE CRANE ALOFT SURVEYS THE WORLD. THE
EARTHBOUND PEACOCK STRUTS AND BOASTS WOE TO THE LAMB THAT
DISPUTES THE WOLF THE CITY MOUSE AND THE COUNTRY MOUSE.
Location: The ornate gates can be found at the
entrance of Ancient Playground at Fifth Avenue and 84th Street, New york City, New York, USA.
History of the William Church Osborn Gates: The gates
originally stood at what was known as the Osborn Memorial Playground ( now the Temple of Dendur section of the
Metropolitan Museum of Art ). The playground and gates were named in honor of William Church Osborn, a former
president of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. In the early 1970s, after the playground closed due to the
museum's expansion, the gates were placed at the entrance to the Ancient Playground across the road . Sadly, after
a few years and numerous vandal attempts the gates were removed and held in storage for 30 odd years, when in 2009
they were refurbished and put back in their rightful place.